Nebraska Labor Laws Breaks
Quick Guide to Nebraska Labor Laws on Breaks
Nebraska Labor Law: Breaks
Nebraska labor laws on breaks are few in number and do not state that an employer needs to give breaks to a person 16 years or older who is out of high school—except for certain exemptions for assembling plants, mechanical establishments, and workshops for a 30 minute lunch break.
There are certain provisions for mothers that are breastfeeding under NE labor laws for breaks and under federal law as well, and there are federal laws for labor unions and those practicing in certain occupations. Several NE labor laws on breaks are discussed in this article.
You can find more information about Nebraska labor laws on breaks under the state’s legislature (mainly Chapter 48) or under the state’s Department of Labor (DOL). You can also research the Fair Labor Standards Act to see how certain NE labor laws on breaks are controlled by federal law.
Specific Nebraska Labor Law on Breaks for Breastfeeding
There is no specific Nebraska labor law on breaks for mothers that are breastfeeding, but employers are required to provide new mothers with breaks under federal law. Additionally, several state laws address breastfeeding and indirectly apply to NE labor laws for breaks.
For example, Bill #197 that was approved on March 10, 2011 states that a mother is allowed to breastfeed a child in any public or private location they are otherwise authorized to be. So, this bill applies to Nebraska labor laws on breaks, and under federal law, the employer is required to provide a safe and clean location for expressing breast milk.
Does Nebraska labor law on breaks require holidays, vacation, or sick time?
NE labor laws on breaks state that an employer is not entitled to provide the employee with vacation time, holidays, or even sick pay. Many employers will provide employers with such benefits to improve the efficiency within the workplace, and an employee has the right to enter into bargaining agreements with an employer according to state law and Nebraska labor laws on breaks. These NE labor laws for breaks do not apply to new parents on maternity or paternity leave.
Child Labor and NE Labor Laws for Breaks
Nebraska labor law for breaks listed above do not necessarily apply to a minor under the age of 16. Minors 16 or older operate under the same Nebraska labor laws as workers 18 or older, except that minors 16 or older may not work in certain hazardous professions.
According to NE labor laws on breaks under the state’s DOL, the following conditions apply to minors between the age of 14 and 15:
• may not work more than 8 hours a day, unless exempt from Nebraska labor laws on breaks because of working for family and/or in agriculture
• may not work more than 48 hours a week unless exempt because of Nebraska labor law for breaks
• may not work before 6:00 a.m. or after 10:00 p.m.
There are federal laws that overrule specific Nebraska labor law on breaks as well. If a federal law and Nebraska labor law on breaks apply in the same situation, the more restrictive law must be observed by the employer.
If an employer disregards NE labor laws on breaks for minors or any other person obligated to take breaks, there may heavy fines and penalties for such violations. If a minor is engaged in certain professions like agriculture on a family farm, some Neberaska labor laws on breaks may not apply.
- Nevada Employee Rights
- Security Jobs
- Louisiana Employee Rights
- Pennsylvania Workers Compensation
- West Virginia Labor Laws Breaks
- Understanding Employee Rights
- Puerto Rico Workers Compensation
- Nevada Overtime Laws
- National Labor Relations Act Text
- Kansas Labor Laws Breaks